I just taught myself to knit today!

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Thanks Occam, btw, if it weren't for you I woldn't have knitting needles!

Occam and I traded a while back, heck I don't even remember what I traded for all these wonderful knitting needles, yarn, crochet hooks, knitting book etc.!! Remind me Occam please. :D

Anyway, I finally sat down and walked my way through the basics of knitting. I can do the basic knit stitch and a purl stitch too!

I can't wait to send each and every one of my family members back in good old Texas a handmade wool scarf!!!! ;) I'm sure they will really appreciate it! :lol:

(And for my really nasty sister, I'll knit a hat to match! :p I'm going to try to have hers sent out by mid August!)

Henrietta23

Yard Farmer
Reaction score
Good for you! I'm a perpetual beginner but I love it! Have fun! You'll be beyond scarves in no time. My goal this summer is to finish a sock, preferably a pair!

hennypenny9

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Wow! I had to take a class to learn... Trying to learn from books, or even videos was absolutely beyond me. I needed the teacher to literally take my hands and move them for me, before I understood what was going on. :he Now everytime you see some nice yarn you'll want it, and develop a nice stash...

PunkinPeep

Humble Ambitions
Reaction score
Awesome! I don't like to knit, but i love to crochet, and i find it is a very relaxing and productive and resourceful hobby. You're going to have a great time - for like the rest of your life! :D

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Henrietta23 said:
Good for you! I'm a perpetual beginner but I love it! Have fun! You'll be beyond scarves in no time. My goal this summer is to finish a sock, preferably a pair!
:lol:

Thanks!

Socks, well that sounds pretty advanced to me! :lol:

I have a few future sweaters out in my back yard that I'm preparing for...unfortunately I'm still on page 11 of my book. :/