Lynn Manes

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Hello, I'm Lynn in California, and a member of BYC. My new hubby of 5 months,Michael, & I started a little mini farm two years ago. We raise chickens & ducks for eggs, quail for both eggs & meat, and rabbits for meat also, although I must admit two things: I've turned 4 of them into pets, & I hate raising rabbits, but I do love rabbit stew :) We are also virgin preppers. We both have overflowing bugout bags, a good starter supply of purchased 25 yr shelf life canned meat that probably tastes terrible, and vacuum sealed bags of powdered goose, duck, chicken & quail eggs which we make ourselves. We love freshwater fishing, and eat what we catch. I'm hoping soon to learn to hunt big game like wild boar & deer to add to our freezers. We both love the outdoors and camping. I love gardening herbs, and wouldn't mind gardening somewhere else, but haven't had much luck at it here. I'm a fine artist by trade and Michael is a retired chef. We have 6 tiny dogs, a parakeet, a cockatiel we recently inherited & 2 desert tortoises. Although she still lives in her own home, we take care of my 89 yr old Mother. When the time comes that she can no longer live alone, we will sell out, move to another State, buy a larger home for the 3 of us on more land, so I can raise more chickens, ducks and quail. I'm looking to get away from our excruciatingly hot and long summers and back to a cooler climate where it rarely snows in the Winter. Does such a place exist? Lol We live a quiet, but busy life. Hoping to make new friends and share and learn here.

sumi

Rest in Peace 1980-2020
Reaction score
Welcome to SS :frow Glad you joined us over here! Such places as you describe, do exist, I live in one :) But it's WET. Always a compromise!

MoonShadows

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Hi Lynn,

Welcome to SS! Nice to have you with us, and thank you for that great "newsy" introduction. It's always nice to learn what others are doing.