Out with the Old, In with the New

Rammy

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I finally did it. I quit my job of 10 years at the veterinary hospital I worked at as a groomer. I have been grooming for almost 30 years, and finally decided I no longer wanted to do it.
The past couple years it has been getting harder on me physically. My hands are stiffening and I keep dropping stuff. Slight carple tunnel with tingling and feeling cold. I figured that I should stop now before I completely disabled myself and could no longer do anything.
A couple months ago, something happened that made me realize I needed to leave. I wanted to leave.
One day, the rural carrier that delivers the mail left a card in the box. The P. O. was hiring carriers. I applied. I was offered a RCA position ( rural carrier assistant) at the office near my home. I accepted.
I start orientation on Jan. 3. I am getting a Jeep ( because you know you have to use a Jeep to deliver mail) 😏 on Monday from a private seller.
I am honestly a little scared, but excited to start this new chapter of my life. It was a long time coming.

Rammy

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
Have an announcement........a few months ago two carriers quit so thier routes were vacant. The 1st of September the routes were put up for bid on the liteblue website.
I thought the two senior RCAs would get the routes and I'd be the next PTF.
Turns out one RCA couldn't get into liteblue to place her bid, but was told she could do a paper ballot.
Whoever told her that was wrong because according to our contract, paper ballots are no longer accepted.
It took a few weeks to get the results.
I bid for the heck of it just for practice, thinking I'd not get anything, and be the next PTF.
Not so. I got one of the routes. I was as shocked as anyone. The girl who should of gotten it didn't, because as I said earlier they no longer accept paper bids. Whoever told her that at HR was wrong.