rag quilts and my treadle, rotary cutting

mrs.puff

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Has anyone used their treadle sewing machine to make a rag quilt?

All the websites with instructions say to use a walking foot so the layers don't bunch up, but I don't have one. I've just got a basic regular old foot.

I'm going to try to whip up some fast baby quilts and thought I could try making rag quilts. I'm going to Joann's to get rotary cutting tools (50% off!) this week. Does anyone have any recommendations on rotary tools? I was just going to get the Fiskars set, since I'm a beginner and won't be doing anything super fancy.

Nostahl

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Hi there!, I am a treadle sewing machine user as well, I have a wheeler n wilson number 9

its from mid to late 1800's

no walking foot on it yet i have done rag quilts without a problem.

what machine do you have. any pictures?

cjparker

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
All the rotary cutting tools are very sharp! I've seen a very experienced quilter with stitches in her hand, so be careful to always retract the blade when not in use. They are amazing timesavers, well worth the extra caution.

I didn't make rag quilts with my treadle but I made denim vests that I lined with sherpa. If that worked, the rag quilts should be okay.

pioneergirl

Wannabe Pioneer
Reaction score
Bought a Fiskars set 2 years ago and love it! I don't own a treadle, so can't help you there.....

*needs to hit JoAnns this week!* ;)

patandchickens

Crazy Cat Lady
Reaction score
I don't (unfortunately) have a treadle machine, just yer basic plain modern White-brand one... however, I do a fair bit of quilting and do not even own a walking foot.

My suggestion is that you make sure the quilt sandwich is very well pinned, use as little tension (pressure, whatever you call the adjustment) as possible on your presser foot, and then just go slowly, with your fingers and the pins keeping things aligned and smoothed.