Tinnitus treatments

Boobalacka

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I am a little late to this thread, but I am an audiologist by trade so I'd like to offer what I know. Unfortunately there is no cure. Tinnitus is most often, but not always, caused by damage to the auditory system, either by noise exposure or aging. This may not yet appear as hearing loss, but can develop into hearing loss later.

There are things you can do to help reduce the perceived volume of tinnitus: minimize stress, caffeine, and sodium. Get plenty of sleep and stay hydrated. The sodium and hydration are particularly important because our inner ear, where tinnitus can be generated, is filled with fluid which has sodium in it. If you are dehydrated or consume too much sodium, this can increase the sodium in the inner ear fluid which can increase the tinnitus.

If hearing loss is present, anywhere from 60-80% of individuals who try a hearing aid actually experience considerable relief from the tinnitus.

If hearing loss is not present you can try tinnitus maskers. Most people who are bothered by tinnitus are most bothered at night when trying to sleep. My number one recommendation is an inexpensive box fan. It is loud enough to mask the tinnitus and often lulls you to sleep. There are more expensive masking options, like small stereos, that play a selection of sounds, like ocean waves, etc..

Another option is cognitive behavioral therapy. This essentially aids in lowering your emotional reaction to tinnitus, and is very effective. Unfortunately it is not covered by insurance.

Don't waste your money on herbal supplements as none of them have been proven to work. However this is largely due to lack of research, regardless tinnitus is caused by our auditory and neurological systems, and as I said, not curable. Try herbal supplements if you like, but more than likely you're throwing money away, unfortunately.

I hope some of this info helped!
I am using Tinniplex oral spray from