1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Official SS Poll: What do you do to eliminate bills / cut down expenses?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

Dismiss Notice
  3. Maple Sweet Potato Hash - Featured Thread
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

Dismiss Notice
  4. SS Picture of the Week (POW) - Submit your Pics Now !!
    Click HERE!

Dismiss Notice

Birth control in a EOTWAWKI situation?

Discussion in 'Emergency Preparedness' started by Blaundee, Feb 21, 2013.

1. Feb 21, 2013
    Blaundee

Blaundee Power Conserver

I hope this is not too blatant- I worked in the medical field for 11 years and have no shame, it's all factual to me, so I try to keep in mind that other people are easily offended by things that dont phase me.

One thing that I worry about most for myself and for my sisters and SIL is preventing pregnancy. None of us believe in eliminating a pregnancy, but we do believe in preventing pregnancy.

Latex condoms have expiration dates, and become brittle after that date, plus are only 80 something % effective. Hormonal birth control is of course the best method for prevention, which is what we currently use, but you have to get it through a doctor and cant stockpile it. I know about the "Rhythm", following your cycle, and the withdrawal method, but both of those are about as effective as or less effective than condoms. I won't use an IUD because- there is a small chance of getting pregnant, and if you DO get pregnant with an IUD in place, you should have it removed for your own body's safety, but having it removed gives a chance of losing the baby- if I did end up pregnant, I'd want to keep the baby, not kill it, so that is not an option for me. Obviously abstinence is the only 100% effective method, LOL, but not an option when married :) What are some other methods? What is your plan?

2. Feb 21, 2013