Request: Deep frying recipes, ideas, hints and tips!

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
I have to admit that I haven't deep-fried in years (decades), not since I stopped using veg oils. I made some sweet potato fries recently in tallow, and I have to say.....WOW!!! Tallow is amazing! It doesn't splatter like veg oil, doesn't break down, doesn't oxidize, doesn't interfere with the flavor of the food being fried, etc. I'd read this, but to experience it.....deep frying is not the messy, expensive, unhealthy proposition it used to be.

So, this means I am new to deep frying. I plan on straining my tallow and keeping it going for a while, storing it on the porch (cold) for the winter, and will fry something maybe once a week.

My restaurant strategy used to be to order fried foods, since I didn't make them at home and I rarely ate out. I no longer have this policy, because of what I know about the fats they use. So now I am willing to deep fry at home, since I don't have to buy a lot of oil for one meal, then toss it. Besides the health concerns.

I need some ideas as to what to make. I remember a breaded chicken nugget that my mom made on rare occasions when I was a kid....sesame seeds in the thick batter. I will make that soon.

I need more ideas. What comes out good? What veggies can be fried unbattered? Battered? How does one make fried pies? Can these be made with meat and used as a main dish?

C'mon, all you Southerners! :p

eta: Could use some tips on determining proper heat of the oil without a thermometer, at least until I get a chance to go buy one....

ohiofarmgirl

Sipping Bacon Martinis
Reaction score
How does one make fried pies?
i love you, man... fried pies.. wheeee!! i'm definitely coming over
:)

i'm workin' on my lard right now. whooot!

no tips just showing my enthusiasm...

Wannabefree

Little Miss Sunshine
Reaction score